1 / 3
2 / 3
Find & Book
3 / 3

UNESCO World Heritage Sites / Thailand

World Heritage Sites Thailand


Thailand is home to five UNESCO (The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites recognized for their cultural and natural significance. These sites are:

  • Historic City of Ayutthaya: 1991
    A former capital of the Kingdom of Siam, known for its ancient temples and ruins.
  • Historic Town of Sukhothai and Associated Historic Towns: 1991
    An ancient city dating back to the 13th and 14th centuries, known for its temples and ruins.
  • Ban Chiang Archaeological Site: 1992
    An archaeological site in northeast Thailand that dates back to prehistoric times and contains evidence of early human settlements and bronze age culture.
  • Dong Phayayen-Khao Yai Forest Complex: 2005
    A natural World Heritage Site comprising five national parks and wildlife sanctuaries, known for its diverse ecosystems and wildlife.
  • Thungyai-Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Sanctuaries: 1991
    A natural World Heritage Site comprising two wildlife sanctuaries in western Thailand, known for its biodiversity and endangered species like tigers and elephants.

These sites offer a glimpse into Thailand's rich history and natural beauty, and are a must-visit for travelers interested in exploring the country's cultural and natural heritage.


UNESCO World Heritage Sites are places around the world that are recognized by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as having outstanding cultural, historical, or natural significance to humanity. 

These sites are considered to be of universal value and are protected by international treaties. The aim of the UNESCO World Heritage program is to preserve and protect these sites for future generations, while promoting global awareness of their significance. 

To be recognized as a World Heritage Site, a location must meet certain criteria and be nominated by the country where it is located. Once approved by the World Heritage Committee, it is added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post